Harvey Madden Award - 2023

The Harvey Madden Award for Outstanding Contribution is presented annually at the end of each season to an individual or group who has played a pivotal role for the Club across the season.

Kirsty Madden, daughter of administrator Harvey who was a key factor in saving the Club in 2012, said: "When my dad passed away in 2015, we wanted to put something in place, not just for the glory on the field, but the glory behind the field because the club would be nothing if it wasn't for the support that comes from the stand."

The inaugural winner of the award in 2014/15 was Men’s First Team manager Martin Gray for his effort in guiding the Club to another promotion and into the EvoStik Premier Division.

Other previous winners of the award are:

2015/16 - The DFC Media Team

2016/17 - Glen & Mary Bowes

2017/18 - John Tempest

2018/19 - Lynn Jasper

2019/20 - Neil Raper

2020/21 - No award presented

2021/22 - James Charlton

For 2022/23, Darlington fans were asked to nominate who they thought were worthy recipients of the Harvey Madden Award via submissions through YOURCLUB.

The amount of nominations received was very impressive and a whole range of brilliant volunteers were put forward for consideration.

The Harvey Madden Award panel, made up of DFCSG board members and fans (Andrew Matthews, Toni Upton, Joanne Cameron, David Steel, Andy Clarke, Stuart Armstrong and Alex Holland), deliberated over every single nomination and then each suggested who they thought should take the award for 2022/23.

Despite the amazing range of options open to the panel and the potential of numerous winners, a decision was made by the panel to award Kevin Luff the trophy for 2022/23.

Kevin, a volunteer and part of the DFC media team, leads the club's video content and delivers first class interview, goals and highlights packages after every Darlington game - home and away, rain or shine. 

Chief Executive David Johnston presented Kevin with the Harvey Madden Award trophy after our final home game of the season on Saturday 22nd April.

Kevin, humble as ever, later commented on social media: "Thank you for all the kind words re the award this evening, its very humbling. Folks like @andros3001 and Jack who help on the cameras and the lads behind @DarloFansRadio play a huge part. They add so much to the coverage. The award is theirs as much as it's mine."

Thank you to everyone who nominated someone and well done to all those volunteers who were put forward for consideration.